Cranberries and Cobwebs

In this place the calendar is merely a suggestion. Autumn arrives mid-August – tinging the leaves of trees with yellow. It compliments the moon which (as of late) has been like a topaz jewel in the sky. Soon the world will be full of gold and contrasted by the brush underneath that turns a violent red. IMG_20160822_163442111.jpg
It’s difficult not to be poetic about the change in seasons – especially for a magpie like myself. I scoff at those in denial of this shift into Fall. One cannot argue with the chill that has entered the air: you can feel it in your lungs. And so, I will drift into an Autumnal themed post even though you, dear reader, may find it premature.

Cinnamon, sugar, hot drinks, pumpkins, corpses, stripey socks-

I want everything this season brings. Unfortunately, in this place Autumn is as brief as summer. Winter bites at its heels swiftly and overcomes it. While the cold can be beautiful too, it takes every ounce of energy out of me. Thus, Autumn battle plans are in order to get the most out of this short season!


Here is the list of things I would like to accomplish this Fall (but don’t hold me to it, I am a fickle creature! :P):

1. Decorate my house as ghastly as possible for Halloween and have an impeccable costume.

I would like to try some new Halloween decorating tactics. I see all these painted pumpkins on Pinterest, and while a dedicated carver, I might try something new. Also, I may have to take a stab at some construction paper bats. As I acquire more ideas and items I will have photos to post for you all.

2. Drink all the hot beverages and eat all the food.

13775874_123807278056266_8735834975394006067_n

While tea time is not a seasonal thing for me, the flavours I am apt to choose can vary significantly based on the time of year. Essentially, pumpkin spice has somehow been incorporated into everything. I’m still not entirely convinced it’s not a conspiracy to market another variation of chai tea and charge more money for it, but what would I know? I’m just a bird brain, but I digress.

Additionally, there’s so much food I cannot wait to devour. The more roasty the better.

Here are some recipes I want to try:

Kiki’s Herring and Pumpkin Pot Pie and Bread

10676142_10152503477888059_977333913907163448_n1
Image Courtesy of slowestcook.blogspot.ca

Caramel Apple Sangria

caramel-apple-sangria-1
Image Courtesy of anightowlblog.com

Roasted Vegan Thanksgiving Bowl

roasted-vegan-thanksgiving-bowl2
Image Courtesy of ilovevegan.com

3. Visit a corn maze. (http://www.edmontoncornmaze.ca/)

This is something I have never done, and yet, it is popular attraction in my area.


I’ll stop here for now just as a display of self control, but the list could go on into perpetuity if you let me.

Before signing off though, I want to know what are you folks looking forward to in the season to come? Have any suggestions for recipes, or thrifty Halloween ideas? What Autumn events do your areas host? Send all your thoughts our way in the comments below! And keep your eyes peeled for articles that will build off of this list in the future.

Thank you for reading!
~Deludedmagpie

Leave a Reply

